Scroll →
← Top

John Tuomey wins CICA Pierre Vago Journalism Award 2020

19 July 2021

John Tuomey wins CICA Pierre Vago Journalism Award 2020

John Tuomey was announced as one of the award winners in the 2020 CICA Awards for architectural writing.

His writing was praised in the jury citation for "its subtle analysis, fine insights and personal experiences that address the poetics of architecture.”

His essay ‘Bringing Heaven Down to Earth: Reading the Plan of Ronchamp’ published in ARQ, was a joint winner of the Pierre Vago Journalism Award. Shane O’Toole was a co-winner for his article ‘Identity Check’ published in the AR.

The international Book Awards of CICA (International Committee of Architectural Critics) for architectural criticism were established in 1980 at the 2nd International CICA meeting in Buenos Aires. The CICA Awards are presented during the UIA Congress, thanks to the influence of Pierre Vago, who founded both organisations. Pierre Vago was a renowned French architect who was known internationally as the publisher of L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui and General Secretary of the International Union of Architects, of which he remained the honorary president until his death.

The CICA Pierre Vago Journalism Award is part of the CICA Dennis Sharp Publications Awards and is awarded for an article of architectural criticism for individual, institutional or society magazines, newspapers and journals. The CICA winners of the 2020 Book, Exhibition Catalogue, Journalism and Digital Communication Awards were announced at the online CICA Symposium at the UIA World Congress Rio de Janeiro 2021 on 19 July 2021.

  • Newsletter

You’d like to hear from us via:

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Website Design and Development: WorkGroup